The Sambalpur Development Authority was constituted on 02.10.1995 vide H& UD department Notification No.30964/HUD., dt.15.09.1995 u/s 3 of ODA Act. 1982. The Sambalpur Development Authority area comprises of 3 towns namely  Sambalpur , Burla & Hirakud and 95 adjoining  revenue villages extended over 488.75 sq.Kms.

Since, its  inception, the Sambalpur Development Authority is ensuring all-round plan and systematic development of development plan area. As per the objective and preamble and its responsibility the SDA have taken up number of social housing and commercial scheme for the general citizen of Sambalpur and have ensured plan development in accordance with the Master Plan of Sambalpur-Burla-Hirakud currently in force.